Learning Basic Tiers of Sedation Dentistry

Learning Basic Tiers of Sedation Dentistry

For those who are in need of certain dental services that may cause pain or discomfort, a service called sedation dentistry is used. Also called relaxation dentistry, this is a way for your dentist to decrease pain and any discomfort or anxiety you might have.

At Three Rivers Dental, we offer a couple different types of sedation dentistry. Let’s look at the full range of tiers generally included in the field of sedation dentistry.

Laughing Gas

Coming in the form of nitrous oxide and also referred to as anxiolysis, this is the mildest form of sedation dentistry. “Laughing gas” can help your anxiety decrease – it can also be administered in pill form for people who prefer this. If you’re taking any medications or have any significant medical conditions, tell your dentist about these before receiving anxiolysis.

Moderate Sedation

Also called conscious sedation, this is a level where you maintain normal breathing and can respond to verbal and physical cues. You are not fully unconscious at any point. Most IV sedation dentistry falls under this category, which can also be done using oral methods.

Deep Sedation

While this isn’t technically part of the standard sedation dentistry package, deep sedation may be used in special cases that range between moderate sedation and general anesthesia. Patients under deep sedation may not breathe independently, and may or may not lose reflexes or be unable to respond to various stimulations.

General Anesthesia

General anesthesia is also technically not part of sedation dentistry, However, it can be used in very rare cases where people might not be right for other areas of sedation dentistry. General anesthesia involves full loss of consciousness during a procedure.

For more on the varying tiers of sedation dentistry, or to learn about any of our other dental services, speak to the staff at Three Rivers Dental today.